Ladders & Draws

Find out the latest information for
Maryborough District Tennis Association

Photo Gallery

View images of
our team and past

Find Us

Maryborough District Tennis Association
Maryborough, Victoria
Click here for a map

About our club

Maryborough and District Tennis Association (MDTA) is based in central Victoria. Clubs currently active include Amphitheatre, Avoca, Bealiba, Cal Gully, Lawn, Majorca, Moonambel, Natte Yallock and Talbot.

Other (currently inactive) clubs represented in the constitution are Carisbrook, Daisy Hill, Dunluce, Dunolly and Timor.

The competition starts in early October with the finals taking place in late March. The format is a doubles and mixed combination. Each team comprises 3 female and 3 male players who each play 3 sets (2 doubles and a mixed) on the day.

A grade and A Reserve matches are played on Saturday afternoon starting at 1.00 pm while juniors in
C Grade (12 and under as of Nov 1st) and C Special (15 and under as of Nov 1st) play at 9.00 am.

An annual tournament - the MDTA Championships - is held at the Maryborough Tennis Centre in February.

The current iteration of the MDTA formed following the war years in 1946-47 with a single grade. As tennis grew in popularity, a B grade competition was added in 1950-51 and C grade for juniors in 1953-54. B Special, C Special and A Reserve divisions were later formed as required by the influx of new players.

Led by the strength of the Raselli family, Dunolly dominated the competition through the 1960s and 70s, amassing a total of 27 A grade premierships. Since Dunolly's dissolution the titles have been spread more evenly, with Dunluce winning five in a row and Majorca emerging as a recent power team.

The MDTA Championships host tournaments for all active grades in singles, doubles and mixed. Avoca's Trevor Field has claimed seven A grade singles titles, with other prolific men's players including Richard Raselli (6), Gary Hunt (5), Darren Hunt (5) and Garry Raselli (4). For the women, Jill Peart holds the record with seven A grade singles championships, followed by Shirley Hurse (5) and Leonie Gallagher (4).